Wrap Around Skirt

Sewing background- I would be classified as an advance beginner sewer.  I am at the point where a good portion of the items I make turn out fairly decent.  Seams are fairly straight, and finishing seams is getting much better.  I am still terrified to try to make a buttonhole though.

So my first entry in the Pattern Review Vintage Contest is a wrap- around skirt from Simplicity 5385.  The pattern is dated 1964.  I found it at an antique mall.

It is a 4 piece pattern so it is fairly simple with not a lot of pieces.  Just a pocket, pocket facing, tie and skirt.  Only one main seam to sew.  So my main challenge with it was to size the pattern up so that it would fit me.  The pattern was a vintage size 16.  The waist needed an extra 4 inches.   So I added an inch at the center seam and an inch to each edge of the skirt piece.  I didn’t move the darts at all.  The other alternation I made was to shorten the pattern a couple inches so the skirt was knee length.

The side challenge is to make sure I get a skirt that is still current looking and usable for everyday while using an older pattern.  This was easy because I chose to make the skirt up in a sandy tan color linen look blend of rayon and poly.

The instructions are in unit construction format and are very good.  They break the whole down to reasonable parts and there was a lot more detail than I expected.  A previous 1960’s pattern I used before had 3 instructions for a pair of pants and pretty much assume the sewer knew about construction of garments.

I used a French seam for the center front seam for a clean look on the inside.  The pocket facing easier than expected and so it didn’t flip out of the pocket,  I went ahead and edge stitched it down.

The skirt is fastened by a couple of snaps in the back.  Instead of just sewing a small square to the back of the outer layer to hide the closures, I lengthened the square into a facing across the entire waist of the skirt, a minor detail change.  It looks nicer because the stitches go across the entire width instead of just stitched squares ( a little out of place).

Leave a Reply

