Waverly Weekender bag: Butterick 5581

The bag pattern was very pocket deprived originally. I drafted a release pleat pocket for the sides. These should be good for small items like makeup, a pair of summer sandals or in my case notebook and pen for murder mystery weekends. Then for the front, I did rectangle for three pockets. I monogrammed the center of the rectangle with the Singer Deluxe Monogrammer I got for my birthday (early). The outer two pockets have button closure flaps (using the Professional buttonholer). They would be good for cell phone, sunglasses, or other small items.

As for the lining, it too received a personal touch. The first time, I pulled out the Singer Deluxe Monogrammer to put a couple of flowers in the corner. A reminder before using any attachment, check to make sure that there is enough thread in the bobbin. I ran out of thread right in the middle of the first flower. After a couple of lack luster flowers, I changed my machine over to the Singer monogrammer (the one that makes 3/8th inch letters) but forgot to put in the throat plate. The first letter turned out horribly. I realized the next morning why. So the other lesson I learned was to always have the manual out on the sewing table. So the pocket was re-cut from the lining fabric.

For a neatly finished zipper, it was hand sewn into the top of the bag. To get more cushy handles, I used felt (which I had at home) instead of sew in interfacing. Anyways, I ran out of sew in interfacing. The felt gives a nice weight to the strap. Instead of a cardboard insert for the bottom, I opted to use a rectangle of plastic canvas. Then I did a couple of stitches through it to hole the bottom into place. I picked two coordinating remnants from the home décor section of Hancock fabrics.

I picked up more fabric than suggested on the pattern envelope because I knew I wanted to add some pockets to the bag. I just wasn’t certain if I wanted to use the lining fabric or the outer fabric for the pockets. So all total after picking up thread, zipper and interfacing the total cost was about $20. Fairly close to the price I saw on just plain old ordinary travel bags at a big box store. The couple extra dollars for my bag was well worth it for all the individual style I got in my bag.

One thought on “Waverly Weekender bag: Butterick 5581

Leave a Reply

