Best of PR Contest- Maria Denmark 101 Kirsten Kimono Tee

DSCI0195

Sewing Pattern Review is having their best pattern contest.  I flipped through the qualifying years.  I knew I should really focus on tops.  2014’s list included 2 t-shirt patterns; Deer & Doe’s plantain and Maria Denmark’s Kirsten Kimono Tee.  Also a plus is that both patterns are free.  I decided to start with the one I haven’t used before the Maria Denmark’s Kirsten Kimono Tee.

I had enough of the Maggy London ITY fabric left over from a yet to be blogged skirt to make this top.  The instructions say it takes 0.9 yards of fabric.

DSCI0192 (2)

First thing to note, the pattern does not have seam allowances included.  However, there are seam allowance recommendation in the instructions.  I didn’t have the instructions open as I was tracing so I just used a straight five eighth seam allowance everywhere.  Also the pattern is in metric which I think caused me some conversion problems when I did my neckband.

I used a medium for the bust and waist then graded out to the extra-large for the hips.  After wearing it a bit, I probably could have just graded out to the large for the hip and be fine but the extra room isn’t a bad thing.  I also used the length for the extra-large.  I didn’t want my t-shirt to be too short.

I added clear elastic to the shoulder seams.

DSCI0193 (2)

My neckline binding was too long.  I think it was because I didn’t faithful convert metric to inches.  I roughly rounded.  I had to shorten it.  So my neckline was not laying flat and turn out.  I went ahead and stitched the neckline and that also allowed me to add a ribbon piece to mark the back of the shirt.

DSCI0194

 

 

One thought on “Best of PR Contest- Maria Denmark 101 Kirsten Kimono Tee

Leave a Reply

