Best of PR Contest- Deer & Doe Plantain tee

DSCI0197

I went ahead and made the other free t-shirt, Deer & Doe’s Plantain t-shirt, for Pattern Review’s Best Pattern contest.

DSCI0189 (2)

I had just enough of the coral stripe rayon jersey knit to make this project with some left over for doll clothes.  I was able to get the stripes to match at the side seams!

I used a size 42 at the bust, shoulders and waist then graded out to the 46 for the hip.  I used the length for the size 46 since I wanted the shirt a bit on the longer side.  I also used the size 46 neckline just to have a higher scoop neckline.  For the dress I made last year, I used the 42 but it is a little low-cut for my taste.  The 46 was a better pick.

DSCI0190 (2)

In comparing the two shirts: The ideal t-shirt neckline would be somewhere between the plantain and the kimono.  I like the looser sleeves of the kimono shirt better but I like the length of the plantain sleeve better.  I like the looser fit at the hips of the plantain shirt just because it is a little more relaxed than the kimono t-shirt.  But otherwise both are great t-shirt patterns to have.

DSCI0191 (2)

 

One thought on “Best of PR Contest- Deer & Doe Plantain tee

Leave a Reply

