Best of PR- Sewaholic Gabriola Skirt

DSCI0207

Sewaholic’s Gabriola skirt has to be the perfect summer skirt.  It is loose for those hot humid summer days when you don’t want anything clinging to you.  Last year, I wore my skirt often even on a day trip down to a couple of wineries in Louisburg.  So it is even picnic appropriate.

Normally, I have the blog post created before posting the pattern review, but since this was for the Best of PR contest, I had to post the review by March 31.

Here is the review (I put the blog only parts in italic):

1.  Why do you think this was voted one of the Best Patterns?

I think the pattern description explains it best: The Gabriola Skirt is flared to create a curvy A-line silhouette, narrowing the waist and elongating the body. Angled panels around the waist flatter the figure and look especially good in striped fabrics. Sew the yoke panels in a contrast fabric, or choose one fabric for the entire skirt. Looks great in printed fabrics as well as solids. A center back zipper makes this skirt easy to construct with a very sophisticated result. Look effortlessly stylish in a long skirt!

2.  Would you have made this pattern if it was NOT voted one of the top patterns of the year?

Actually back in January I thought of making another Gabriola skirt and bought a cotton lawn for it even before I knew this was one of the best patterns of 2014. I decided to use the ITY instead of the cotton lawn since I thought it was too light for a skirt.  The cotton was actually a cotton voile (I am not sure of the exact difference between lawn and voile).  The cotton voile is now being used for three tops which are currently being worked on. 

3.  How did you make your version of this pattern unique?

I guess the fact that I made the pattern in a knit instead of the recommended woven fabrics may make it unique. I also used an elastic waist.

DSCI0209

4.  What size(s) did you make?

Size 12

5.  Did you find the sizing accurate compared to the measurements listed on the pattern?

I think so.  It is hard to tell because of the fabric (see question 6). 

6.  What fabric and trims did you use? What was the source of your fabric and trims?

Raspberry ITY from Fabric-mart. It isn’t on their website anymore. This fabric absolutely hated the rotary cutter. I think I ended up with a skirt slightly smaller than size 12 when finished because it would shift around under the rotary cutter. The yoke pieces were the worst for this and it looked like I had ears on my hips. So after everything was pretty much together, I went back with my design curve and smoothed out the yoke to gentle curves.

I bought 10 yards of the raspberry ITY  because I adored the color and so hopefully I am ready for the cutting battle when I go to use it again. I think it would work well for some leggings.

DSCI0208

7.  Describe how you used the pattern instructions. Did you follow the instructions literally, did you figure out how to assemble on your own, or a combination of instructions plus own experience?

I have made this before so I didn’t look at the instructions. I did pull out my teal skirt for reference. I used the style of the “unit” construction method from the 1960s. I made the front first, then back and continued finishing up the skirt.

8.  Describe any alterations you made and discuss whether alternations were for fit or for design.

I made a straight size 12. My fabric seemed to not like the rotary cutter and shifted around even with my pattern weights so after I got it together I had to re-shape the yoke part.  I did take 5 inches out in the length of the skirt so it fit me better.  I didn’t take it all at one location.  At the lengthen/ shorten line, I took just one inch then measures so far down and took another inch out and repeated.  It was easier to smooth out the ridges after and didn’t affect the hem width.   

9.  What did you like and what did you dislike about the pattern?

I like the flare and that it is easy to wear.  If it is any help, the skirt did get bunny approval while I was making it.  Lala would sit on it as I was pinning the pieces together. 

10.  Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I really want a version in a print so if the right print came up I would sew it again. I think it is a great summer skirt so I would recommend others to look at it and see if it would work for them.

So since I didn’t know, the blog’s 3rd anniversary was on Monday April 6th.  It is a good thing that Word-press keeps up with that type of stuff because I surely don’t.

 

One thought on “Best of PR- Sewaholic Gabriola Skirt

Leave a Reply

