Lindy Petal Skirt

DSCI0012One night I decided that I needed a simple easy project.  I decided to try out the recently released Itch to Stitch Lindy Petal Skirt.  I went ahead and trace out the Lindy petal skirt.  I used the size medium at the waist and waistband and graded out to large at the hips.

For this skirt I used scuba knit.  Scuba knit is a bit thicker than the recommended fabrics.

The medium was fine at the waist.  However, the large was too big at the hips.  I brought in the side seams at least 5/8 inch (for 2.5 inches total).  So I probably ended up at slightly under the medium in size.

DSCI0016

Lindy has an elastic waistband but doesn’t use the casing method for the elastic.  I am not fond of the casing method because it always seems like the safety-pin I use unfasten and falls off the elastic or I lose the second end and have to pull it all out and redo it.  I am going to call what the Lindy pattern uses as the sandwich method.  I felt that the sandwich method was very easy (so much so that I was able to have a nice neat waistband on first try) and produced a nice looking band.  I would definitely tell beginners that this is a pattern they should try because of that.  Especially since the sandwich method allows you to try the waistband on before adding it to the skirt.

DSCI0011

The only thing I didn’t like about the waistband was the tacking it at the sides.  I wonder if that was because of the scuba knit though.  My fabric was fairly squishy so I think my machine didn’t sew those bar tack stitches as well.  I decided to go ahead and zig-zag stitch the bottom of the elastic waistband closed instead.  Advice for those who decide to do this, use a smaller width zig-zag.  I used the wide stitch I used to put the elastic on the waistband to close it also and that is fairly noticeable.

DSCI0018

My Lindy Petal Skirt has been done for about 2 to 3 weeks.  I have worn it several times and it does look long.  I think next time I should shorten the pattern at least an inch to get the length to hit me at the place it does on the pattern photo.  Also, I would just trace out the plain medium for the size.

DSCI0017

2 thoughts on “Lindy Petal Skirt

Leave a Reply

