Beret- Crochet Boutique: Hats: 25 Fresh Takes on Classic Crocheted Hat Designs

DSCI0052So I decided that the boot cuffs I started at the beginning of December needed to be put on hold during the week of Christmas.  The break from the boot cuffs was very nice.

I had recently picked up the book Crochet Boutique: Hats: 25 Fresh Takes on Classic Crocheted Hat Designs by Rachael Oglesby.  The book has a decent variety of hats and difficulty levels in it.  I started with the first pattern “Bulky Shell Beret” because it was rated beginner/easy and used the Lion Wool-Ease Thick and Quick yarn to make.  The pattern went together fairly easily.  I understood the instruction.

DSCI0055

The first try at this pattern took me about four hours (split over two days) to complete.  I used the 9mm (N) hook for the beret.  I did not have the best of slip stitches over to the chain one on the shell.  It ended up too small.

DSCI0054

The second time, I used the 10mm (N) hook.  It came out much better and had a better fit for me.  The second try probably took less time to make than the first.

Leave a Reply

