More Lee & Pearl- “Molly Waves Goodbye”

DSCI0034Right now, all sewing focus has been on doll clothes.

DSCI0026

Using the fabric I used for the Sew Small contest as the inspiration, I decided to sew up another version of “Molly Waves Goodbye” from Lee & Pearl.  This will be time three of making the suit jacket and skirt.  I did make this earlier in the year for my dad’s work “Toys for Tots” drive because what doll would not like a 1940’s style suit.  I also had the slip cut; this is the first time I am making the slip.

No use in boring everyone with the details on the suit jacket and the skirt.  They are posted in this blog post if you want to see (Lee & Pearl 1943 (Molly Waves Goodbye)

For this jacket I used the grey wool flannel for the outside fabric and the blue floral quilting cotton for the lining.

The slip uses white cotton (most likely a broadcloth as I can’t remember because this had been cut out for a while).  The slip is rated as intermediate and that would be fairly accurate.  It is partially lined at the top, darts, French seams, and the back has a placket.

DSCI0027

Inserting the partial lining is probably the trickiest part.  I did have the instructions pulled up on the computer to refer to between steps.  But otherwise, I didn’t have too much difficulties in making this slip.  I did take the bow off of an old bra because the one I tried to make didn’t look as nice.  I used Velcro to close the back instead of snaps.

DSCI0028

My model is Grace, last year’s Girl of the Year doll.  The slip fits her very snug.  As for my older dolls, I definitely would need to add at least a quarter of an inch to get the slip to fit them (if I want to keep the French seams and use Velcro).  As is, I think this slip back Velcro would pop open for them.

DSCI0036

One thought on “More Lee & Pearl- “Molly Waves Goodbye”

Leave a Reply

