Bonnie Beret

DSCI0072I decided to give up on the Belmont boot cuffs. I have been struggling with them for a while now.  The next crochet project that I had materials for was the Bonnie beret from Rachael Oglesby’s book “Crochet Boutique”.

DSCI0070

The first try was with the recommended hook size (11.5 mm P hook). After row five, my hat’s diameter was around 9 inches.  The pattern listed 11 inch diameter for the finished hat.  I knew row 6 was the decrease so I decided to rip everything out and try again with a larger hook.

DSCI0069

So after getting my 15mm hook out; I tried to make the hat again. I think the larger stitches were confusing me when I started with the larger hook and I messed up several times.  It took about four more tries to get the hat started.  About three of those times I was trying to watch “War and Peace” with Lily James.  Distractions definitely didn’t help me get started.

DSCI0064

After getting started in a non-distracted environment, the hat was fairly easy to crochet. There is only nine rows.  After I got started, it probably took about 2 hours on the first hat.  Then I went ahead and made my mom a hat also.  I think I was able to finish her hat in about an hour.

Note, the ruler in the pictures is metric so the tick marks are in centimeters and millimeters.

Leave a Reply

