Seashell Ruffle doily

My mother absolutely adores doilies. In fact, she said the best Christmas present my grandmother ever gave her was a set of three hand crocheted doilies.

DSCI0143

Actually the Sea Shell Ruffle doily is the third doily I have made. For it I used Aunt Lydia’s Fashion 3 in Plum and Ecru.  I used a size H hook.  This doily took a whole ball of the purple thread.

This took a couple of tries to get started. Most of that is just lack of experience.  After that, the pattern was pretty easy to follow except for the final row.  I didn’t quite understand what was going on from reading the instructions.  So I made up a pattern and kept it up through the whole round as the final border.  I made sure to note it down on a post it note and put inside the book.

DSCI0141

Next doily will be A-792 Brocade from a Coats & Clark book (1969) for my bedroom dresser.

3 thoughts on “Seashell Ruffle doily

Leave a Reply

