Which T-shirt? 2016 Sew Doll Clothes Week T-shirt Comparison

Pattern Doll Clothing 2016

If you are sewing for some lucky girl’s holiday present, more than likely, that doll will need a t-shirt.  There are probably more doll t-shirts out there than I can actually ever sew.  Today my Rebecca and my Grace dolls will be modeling the 5 different t-shirts I made for the T-shirt test.

Before getting started, the weather was not the best so I had to do inside pictures.  Looking at all the neckbands in the photos, I probably overstretched them as sewing especially since I was trying to make everything on my sewing machine instead of switch back and forth between it and serger.  I was trying to recreate how someone just new to sewing would only be using a sewing machine.

Here are the 5 patterns getting tested:

Liberty Jane Patterns Trendy T-shirt (free)

Liberty Jane Trendy Tee

Liberty Jane Trendy Tee

Liberty Jane Trendy Tee

Liberty Jane Trendy Tee

Liberty Jane Trendy Tee

Liberty Jane Trendy Tee

Liberty Jane Trendy Tee

Liberty Jane Trendy Tee

  • A fold under and stitched neckline.  I stay stitched the quarter inch mark and then turned under and zig zag stitched.
  • Decent fit, not too tight and not too loose
  • The double fold sleeve was pretty tight.  So I just did the single fold under and zig zag stitched the hem.  It made the sleeve longer but at least I knew I didn’t have trouble with setting in the sleeve or closing up the side seams.

Doll It Up Dolman T-shirt (free)

Doll It Up Dolman

Doll It Up Dolman

Doll It Up Dolman

Doll It Up Dolman

Doll It Up Dolman

Doll It Up Dolman

  • Doll It Up Dolman T-shirt is a pull over the doll’s head type of t-shirt.  I don’t particularly like pulling t-shirts over my doll’s head so for that for any future makes of this pattern I will add seam allowances to the back so that I can add Velcro to the back for an easier to put on t-shirt and not mess up my doll’s hair.
  • This was hard to put on and take off.
  • It was fairly fitted.
  • A fold under and stitch neckline which I stay stitched the quarter inch mark then turned under and zig zag stitched.

Sweet Pea & Pumpkin T-shirt (free)

 

Sweet Pea & Pumpkin

Sweet Pea & Pumpkin

Sweet Pea & Pumpkin

Sweet Pea & Pumpkin

Sweet Pea & Pumpkin

Sweet Pea & Pumpkin

  • Neck band which is like what a girl would find in ready to wear.
  • I really wish there was a small box with the neckband bias marked in the pattern pages.
  • As this is a PDF pattern, I don’t usually have the computer up with the instructions as I am cutting pattern out.See above.  I actually had to go back and fix the t-shirt after completed because I found out about the neck band so that is why my neck line is stretched out.
  • Otherwise, the pattern pieces fit together nicely.
  • Probably more of a boyfriend shirt style of fit.

Liberty Jane Patterns Baseball T-shirt ($3.99)

Liberty Jane Baseball Tee

Liberty Jane Baseball Tee

Liberty Jane Baseball Tee

Liberty Jane Baseball Tee

Liberty Jane Baseball Tee

Liberty Jane Baseball Tee

Liberty Jane Baseball T-shirt

Liberty Jane Baseball T-shirt (example on older doll in rayon jersey)

  • Neckline band!  That is probably the finish one would expect to see in Ready to Wear.
  • Easy opportunity to color block which means that it could use smaller scrap from projects.
  • Fairly fitted style
  • Raglan sleeves
  • Fairly fast to make (I have made this three times before but still even first time is fast)
  • Definitely need a fabric with stretch (I have made this top with ponte for the body and it will only fit on my newer dolls)
  • Pattern marks match up easily

 

Lee & Pearl’s 1001 Unisex T-shirt ($3.99)

Lee & Pearl

Lee & Pearl

Lee & Pearl

Lee & Pearl

Lee & Pearl

Lee & Pearl

  • Neckline band!  I really just love this.
  • Pattern comes with a V-neck option
  • Choice of long or short sleeves.
  • Relaxed fit
  • Pattern marks line up well

 

 

All these t-shirts were made with teal poly/ lycra knit from Fabricmart.  All the doll models shown in the pictures are modern American girl dolls.  I didn’t use any of the older dolls in my collection which are more stuffed than the current dolls made.  As always, there will be slight variation per doll.

 

 

One thought on “Which T-shirt? 2016 Sew Doll Clothes Week T-shirt Comparison

  1. I love this series you’re doing! I think the pullover one is my favorite looking if these patterns though I agree, I hate pulling shirts on and would also add a back closure. If looks so cozy though!

Leave a Reply

