Doll Clothing Week- Thimbles & Acorns

Pattern Doll Clothing 2016
Today’s doll clothing designer is Shari Fuller at Thimbles & Acorns.   I have actually sewn just one of the ten or so patterns of Shari’s that I have.  The details in the En Forreau gown are absolutely delightful and my Felicity doll looked beautiful in her dress.

 

I gave Shari five questions and here are her answers:

1.  What was your first doll?

The first doll that I remember having was my little Dawn Doll.  My profile picture shows me mending her dress… the first time I ever sewed!

 

2.  What was the last doll you got?

The most recent doll I got (well, I just bought it a few days ago and it hasn’t arrived yet), was a Laura Ingalls doll from the Queens Treasures.  Laura Ingalls was my childhood hero, so I am rather excited to see her.

lhdlli_in-box_eye

3.  What is one sewing notion you absolutely must have?

My absolute must-have sewing notion is my seam ripper.  I actually have about five of them, but still spend far too much time searching for one of them when I need it.  My package of bobby pins comes in as a close second though… they are wonderful for turning narrow tubes.

4.  What pattern from your line would you recommend to someone who hasn’t tried  your patterns before?prairie-rose

I would recommend my set of three Prairie patterns that I just released this summer to anyone new to Thimbles and Acorns.   They are relatively easy to make, include both a Past and Present variation, and many of the pieces are interchangeable so there is a wide range of design options.

 

5.  What is the next pattern you are releasing?  Where did you get the  inspiration for the new pattern?

Currently, I am working on a series of Elizabethan Era dresses.  The idea for this series stems from my work on the soon to be released Elizabethan doll from A Girl For All Time.  I am really enjoying researching the different dress styles from this period and am rather fascinated by their unique construction.

 

Check out Thimbles and Acorns’ website at Thimbles and Acorns.

 

One thought on “Doll Clothing Week- Thimbles & Acorns

Leave a Reply

