Recreating Molly’s Christmas Dress- Butterick 6149

Pattern Doll Clothing 2016

 

dsci0007

I guess we could say my sewing skills have came a long way.  Now I am trying my best to “hack” Molly’s Christmas dress from Butterick 6149.  I don’t usually try to draft out entire pattern pieces.  Mainly, I just make little modifications like lengthening a t-shirt pattern to a dress sort of thing.

I started with Butterick 6149 because I would not need to make changes to the bodice.  I used view B for my dress especially since it was short sleeved.  I tried changing a gathered skirt to the A-line skirt to match the original outfit.  It was close but I ended up “fixing” the front by trimming length off it.

dsci0001

Looking at the compare pictures at the bottom of the post, my skirt is close to the original but slightly off.  I am not sure what I did wrong but I am at least close.  Anyways, it may just be fabric choice.

dsci0010

The big question I have is where did American Girl get the velvet to make Molly’s dress.  I picked my fabric up from Fabric mart.  It was definitely too thick but I used it anyways as I really wanted to re-create Molly’s dress for Doll Clothing week.  My seams are bulky.  I didn’t line the sleeves because of bulk.  Also, I didn’t add the lace to the sleeves to avoid more bulk.

dsci0009

My other fabric issue was the velvet had a little bit of stretch while the lining was white quilting cotton which didn’t.  So there was some fighting between the lining and the velvet but in the end, the pieces lined up enough that everything worked out.  Cutting the velvet was a bit tricky too.  I feel like it slide out from under my rotary cutter.  Next time, I will try pinning and using scissors to see if that helps tame the velvet.

dsci0011

All I can say is those 1950’s mothers must have really loved their daughters if they were setting the sleeves of a doll dress in the round.  When I seen that in the instructions, it was so not happening.  Especially after realizing the lining cotton and velvet were not getting along and that the seams will be bulky anyways.  I put the sleeves in flat and it turned out alright.

American Girl sold the dress on the left below for $24.  I was able to recreate it for around $6.  I know my final result is a close but not quite there (I ended up ordering one off of Ebay to have a closer look than I can get in pictures.  From what I can tell, it looks like I need to drop the waist line of the dress, lengthen the sleeves, add extra buttons (which I can still do as there are more at home), and change the skirt.  At first, I honestly thought it was A-line.  Hopefully the closer look will help figure it out.

christmas-compare

2 thoughts on “Recreating Molly’s Christmas Dress- Butterick 6149

  1. Your version is beautiful! If you’re trying to get exact recreation, the details you Point out are correct. Molly’s skirt piece is much rounder when you cut it out to give it that flare even without gathering (almost like a circle skirt but with that pointed waist.) If you find thin velvet, please share! I always have the same thoughts about the thin flannel for Kirsten’s nightgown too. That blue velvet color was such a pretty choice.

    • Thanks Jessa. The Molly’s Christmas dress that I ordered came in on Friday. I haven’t really got to look thoroughly at it and compare the velvet yet as I was cleaning and making snacks for book club. I will definitely let you know if I find thin velvet.

Leave a Reply

