Cecile’s New Gown- Keeper’s Dolly Duds 1

dsci0092

Right off, I have finally came to the conclusion my Cecile does not like winter (which I guess is understandable for a character from New Orleans as Kansas is much colder).  So these pictures really do not do full justice to how beautiful Cecile really is.

Last time that Cecile had a new dress was in March of 2015.  So she was long over due for a new outfit.  In the end, all the pieces came together and Cecile got Keeper’s Dolly Duds 1- “1850’s girl’s gown” in an ivory and white quilting cotton with black looped braid trim and black bias piping.

dsci0094

Pattern is rated as easy which seems to be accurate.  I was able to easily put it together with a little help from the instructions.  I think I had the dress together in 7 to 8 hours.  The most time- consuming part of this dress was all the trim.

dsci0109

Instead of using the same trim on the over skirt, upper sleeve and bodice, I decided to go with bias tape piping that I bought in store.  The piping did add extra bulk to the shoulders and neckline.  For the lower sleeve and skirt, I used a looped braid.  I serged the hems then turned them up.  After that I lined the braid trim with the edge of hem and zig-zagged stitched it to the dress.

The skirt pieces are long and get gathered into the waist of the dress.  I put in three rows of basting stitches for the gathers.  Then I pinned the ends and the center.  Afterwards I gathered it all up and pinned.  I was so happy that the skirt was sewn into the dress so easily.  I doubt I would have had that if I had done only two rows of basting for the gathers.

In the pictures, Cecile is wearing her American Girl chemise and hoop skirt plus a petticoat I made along with the meet pantalettes.

dsci0093

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Cecile’s New Gown- Keeper’s Dolly Duds 1

Leave a Reply

