Marie Grace got a dress too- Simplicity 1391

dsci0115

 

After finishing up Cecile’s dress, I should have moved on to making me some more t-shirts.  However, that didn’t happen; I blame it on the cold weather.  I just don’t want to sew something and have to wait till it warms up to wear it.  So instead, the dolls got another new dress.  This time it was Marie Grace’s turn for the new dress, but all that I knew was that I didn’t want Marie Grace’s dress to look like Cecile’s dress.  From that I had 3 pattern options:  Addy’s Christmas dress from Pleasant Company, Addy’s school set from Pleasant Company and Simplicity 1391.  In the end, I decided that view A from Simplicity 1391 went best with the fabric I bought.

This is actually the second time I have used this pattern.  Cecile got a dress B from it back in March 2015 (Cecile’s dress).  This time I decided to use view A with the peplum.

dsci0113

So remembering from the first time, I knew that this pattern really needs the trim to elevate the dress from a simple plain dress.  As I didn’t really have coordinating trims, I decided that the lace at the hem was more important to the overall look than the lace at the collar.  After that I made sure I picked out a thicker white lace to pick up the flowers in the dress.

As a reminder, the back of the dress does have darts and there is bias facing for the neckline.

dsci0118

The instructions are well done.  If I had followed them more closely than just for the sleeves, I would have remembered to put in the ties at the side seams.  I realized I had forgotten them as I was attaching the skirt to the bodice.  At that point I was not seam ripping out serging and stitches to add them in.  The peplum dress is probably fine without the ties, but the other dresses will benefit from the added detail.

Like previous dresses made, I decided to use Velcro for the back closure instead of the pattern recommended buttons.  Otherwise, there really were not any more changes made from the pattern beside the missing ties and missing lace at the collar.

Marie Grace is able to wear her hoop skirt, and chemise under this.  I didn’t go to my doll clothing box to get her out a petticoat, but considering Cecile was able to wear her view B of the dress with one, Marie Grace should be able to also.

 

 

dsci0116

 

 

2 thoughts on “Marie Grace got a dress too- Simplicity 1391

  1. I absolutely love this!! The fabric is perfect for the pattern and that lace is really a great find. I wouldn’t ever have noticed missing ties; it looks beautiful as is.

Leave a Reply

