Learning from History- Part 1 Followup

Here is the follow-up on what I learned last time.

As for closet organization, I took some measurement of the shelves that are in my closet.  After looking around, I dragged my dad to IKEA (we were probably the only two there that don’t care much for IKEA).  There I was able to pick up six larger plastic boxes and three smaller plastic boxes with lids.  I didn’t remember my closet correctly and am short two big tubs and one small tub.  I thought I had 3 shelves not 4.

Just something to note, the lids never really clicked or snapped into place.  It seems more of a topper instead of an air-tight lid.

Next up on the list to tackle was moth prevention.  Everything on the internet stressed the health risk of using mothballs and that it is a danger to pets.  I decided to use a combo of cedar and lavender.  As for cedar, I went to the laundry care aisle and bought so many cedar disk.  For the lavender, I decided to try using reed diffusers since I do have a fairly large- sized closet.  However, it seems like reed diffuser are going out of style because I couldn’t find any reasonable priced.  I decided to try to make my own.  As of right now, I have bamboo skewers for the reeds in a small bottle filled with diffuser oil from Walmart.  I am not sure if it was meant for reed type diffuser or a warming pot sort of diffuser.  Plus I also am trying out a solid air freshener in lavender too.  As of now, with an allergy induced troubles, the solid air freshener seems stronger.

I have seen that you can make your own reed diffuser oil on the internet and will try that out too.

One interesting item to note is the moths that eat clothing don’t like light.  So I may consider the option of a touch light later in my closet but I need to get things clean up and organized how I want it before considering lights or not.

So far, the closet is only about half way cleaned.  I still need to work on finishing it up but it will probably be put on hold until after the siding/ windows  are done.  The siding company called yesterday saying they are ready for installing and would start today (like two days before a snowstorm).  Fortunately, my dad told them no way, that they need to wait until beginning of April.  So I have a little bit of time to move stuff away from windows and doors (and get the bunny packed up for an extended visit to grandma).

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Learning from History- Part 1 Followup

  1. Apple cider vinegsr on a rag will act as a repellant too. You could wipe the area down with it and then add a soaked rag to the closet too. It worked for me. Also when i worked in camping they said Bounce dryer sheets repel fleas and all bugs. You could store a box ok n the affected area.

    • Thank you. I didn’t know about the Bounce dryer sheets. I usually stay away from too much stuff in the laundry aisle as I get a serious allergic reaction to the fragrance and dyes in them. I will definitely pick up a box this weekend.

Leave a Reply

